Its construction began in 1725 by the Franciscan order and was completed in 1731. During all this time, and until 1754 it served as a convent. Years later, in 1756, the then parish priest, Don Mariano del Villar, ordered the erection of the only bell tower with red quarry, and later the parish priest Gregorio González ordered the construction of the neoclassical façade in which a niche with the carved image appears of the Virgin of Guadalupe and Juan Diego. Although the parish is dedicated to the apostles Saint Peter and Saint Paul, the patron saint is the Virgin of Sagrario. Its altarpiece is considered one of the most beautiful in Latin America.